DMQ Review has been publishing poetry and art since 1998, releasing two to three issues per year. In 2019 we added The DMQ Reviews: Micro Reviews of New Books of Poetry featuring three or four new poetry collections out from indie presses per issue.

We nominate our poets for the Pushcart prize and Best of Net, and Verse Daily often features our poetry as a WebWeekly feature.  We are proud to have had our work appear in the annual Best American Poetry anthology.

We hope you will consider subscribing to receive new issue releases as well as liking our Facebook page to keep up with what’s new at DMQ Review. Submit your work using the link above. Email us at

Subscribe HERE

 about dmq


editorial team

Sally Head Shot A-1.jpg

Editor in Chief Sally Ashton is the author of Some Odd Afternoon, Her Name Is Juanita, and These Metallic Days, and most recently, The Behaviour of Clocks, WordFarm 2019. She is assistant editor of They Said: A Multi-Genre Anthology of Contemporary Collaborative Writing. Honors include a fellowship from Arts Council Silicon Valley and a residency fellowship at Montalvo Arts Center. She served as Poet Laureate of Santa Clara County, 2011-2013. Ashton earned her MFA at Bennington Writing Seminars. She taught at San José State University and currently in a variety of workshops. Ashton has been editor in chief of DMQ Review since 2003. Sally Ashton


 Editor Mary Donnelly is the author of the chapbook Mad World Colored Oil (Dancing Girl Press) and has published work in The Literary Review, Prairie Schooner, and The Yale Review. She received an MFA from Bennington Writing Seminars and teaches through Gotham Writers Workshop in New York City, where she lives, and in the low-residency MFA in Interdisciplinary Arts at Sierra Nevada College. Mary Donnelly


Editor Hugo dos Santos is a Luso-American writer, editor, and translator. He is the author of Then, there (Spuyten Duyvil, 2019), a collection of Newark stories, and the translator of A Child in Ruins, (Writ Large Press, 2016), the collected poems of José Luís Peixoto, which was a staff pick at the Paris Review Daily. Hugo has been awarded fellowships by the MacDowell Colony and the Disquiet International Literary Program. His work has been nominated for the Pushcart Prize and won a Write Well Award, and has appeared or is forthcoming in Barrelhouse, Electric Literature, Hobart, Puerto del Sol, the Common, the Fanzine, and elsewhere. Hugo is a co-founder of the Brick City Collective . Learn more about his work at Hugo Dos Santos


Contributing editor Rachelle Escamilla is the producer and host of Out of Our Minds on KKUP, the longest running poetry radio show in the United States. She is the author of two books of poetry, was a visiting scholar at the Library of Congress Hispanic Division in 2018, and is the founder of a number of creative writing programs worldwide. She teaches Creative Writing and Social Action at California State University Monterey Bay.


Micro Reviews Editor Annie Kim is a poet, lawyer, and violinist. Her first book, Into the Cyclorama, won the Michael Waters Poetry Prize and her second book, Eros, Unbroken, winner of the Washington Poetry Prize, will be published in March 2020. Annie’s poems have appeared in journals such as Beloit Poetry Journal, Cincinnati Review, Kenyon Review, Narrative, and Pleiades, and she has received residencies from the Virginia Center for Creative Arts and the Hambidge Center for Creative Arts and Sciences. She works as an assistant dean at the University of Virginia School of Law and teaches poetry and legal writing. Learn more at


Editor Erin Redfern’s work has recently appeared or is forthcoming in the New Ohio Review, Fire & Rain: Ecopoetry of California (Scarlet Tanager Books), and New Voices: Contemporary Writers Confronting the Holocaust (New Voices Project). She is a co-recipient of the 2016 Robert H. Winner Memorial Award given by the Poetry Society of America. Her chapbook is Spellbreaking and Other Life Skills (Blue Lyra Press Delphi Series). She earned her PhD from Northwestern in 2003 and currently teaches writing in the South Bay Area of California.
Erin Redfern.

former editors:

Marta Svea Wallien 2011-2019

Todd Kaneko 2012-2015

Anne M. Doe Overstreet 2012-2016

Arlene Kim

Dean Rader 2008-2012

Jennifer K. Sweeney 2008-2011

Christopher Salerno 2006-2007

Peter Davis, editor Poet’s Bookshelf 2005

Eric Killough

Sarah Busse

Martha Kinney

Kelsea Habecker 2004-2007

Marjorie Manwaring 2004-2016

Marcelle Kube 2001-2004

D. E. Shephard 2001-2002

Kate Evans 2001-2002

C. J. Sage 2000-2002

Founding Editors:

Karla Rogers 1999-2000

Georgios Kalomiros 1999-2000

J.P. Dancing Bear, editor-in-chief 1997-2003